In the midst of all the unfinished objects and works in progress, I managed to finish a little project today!

 

Allow me to introduce Al the Alien!  This little guy came to be after I came across the pattern listed at Knitting Pattern Central.   I thought he was precious and might come in handy as an “omigod I’ve got too many large projects going I need something quick to finish!!!” project.  Hannah over at her blog Bittersweet was kind enough to share this adorable pattern with us knitters.

So, specs:

Pattern: Alien by Hannah Kaminsky

Yarn: Caron Simply Soft in Limelight

Needles: Skacel size 7 bamboo

Time: Approx. 1.5 hours

Adjustments: Nothing at all except I sewed the felt eyes on instead of glueing them.

 

Overall I just really loved how simple and fun this pattern was.  I’m seriously thinking of making a whole slew of martians in various colors and genders.

As I’m sure a lot of knitters already know, the new Knitty is out!  There are several patterns I’m itching to knit, including Muir, Henry and Foliage.  I’m not a fan of Boxed, mainly because I don’t think cropped shapeless sweaters look good on anybody, but that’s just me.  All of the sock patterns are beautiful but not really my style, and I adore Mr Greenjeans but don’t feel it would look very good on me since I’m so fluffy.

I’ve already grabbed some recycled cotton and plan on starting Percy tonight or tomorrow.  I love purses and bags, but I’m a bit picky of pattern and shape.  I don’t like super intricate stuff, but I don’t like plain garter stitch rectangles either.  Percy has some interesting bits and it looks structured without being fussy.  Funny enough, the strap was one of the things that drew me to it.  It looks sturdy but it’s not ugly.  Overall it just looks lovely.

Hmm…let’s see….

WIPs.  I’ve got several going, it’s a bit nuts really. 

  • Lift and Seperate from Big Girl Knits.  I’ve got the back finished and about half of the left side done.  I started this back in June, but when the weather turned sweltering I put it down.  I’d really like to get this going again so I can wear it this winter!
  • Heart from the special Breast Cancer Awareness mini-issue of Knitty (link is a direct link to the pdf file).  I just started this a couple of days ago and have four repeats of the lace done.  Only 16 left to go lol.  I’m doing it in a vintage Italian Mohair and though it’s beautiful and fluffy and bright pink, I’m not sure if it’s going to show the pattern very well and well…if it doesn’t work out I may just have to scrap it because ripping mohair is like stabbing your tongue with a fork repeatedly.
  • Pinwheel baby blanket by Genia Planck.  A friend of mine just had a baby girl and I started this blanket a couple months ago.  It too was put down when the heat became unbearable.  I’d like to get it finished before Christmas so I can give her a beautiful present.
  • Blackwork cuffs and collar in the pattern from this page for a medieval chemise.
  • A medieval coif done in blackwork of my own design.

 I know I’m forgetting something, but it’s just not coming to me right now.  Regardless, I’ve got a lot of unfinished projects gathering dust and here I am wanting to start more!  Sometimes you just need a break from something though and most of these projects are fairly large.  I’m hoping to slowly pare them away until I’m finished (without ripping my hair out!)  I’m not entirely sure I’ll be hand-crafting Christmas gifts this year, but I’d better decide soon or I won’t have time, even if I want to!

