The last two projects I’ve finished have put the idea in my head that I should pamper myself today.  A hot bath, good smelly soaps and hot tea with a good book!  It would certainly help after such a nasty night. 

I met the rudest, nastiest old man last night at Walmart.  I’d done a weeks worth of grocery shopping and my cart was overflowing.  When this man came up behind me in the check-out line I offered to let him go ahead of me seeing as he only had one item.  I said, “Excuse me, but I’ve got a LOT of stuff and if you’d like to go ahead of me you’re welcome to.”

I thought it was nice, but instead of a “thank you”, I heard “Yeah, pshhh….you DO have a lot of stuff!” as he sauntered past me and threw his tube of antifungal cream on the belt.

Now, normally I don’t speak up in public.  I’ve had people run over my foot with their cart, push me out of the way and literally during a Black Friday sale I had someone elbow me in the gut for the last rocking chair.  So I surprised myself by saying out loud, “Gee, you’re WELCOME!”

He looked taken aback and muttered a quick thank you.  He then got to experience my full wrath after looking at the cashier and saying “Young people these days!  Not a polite bone in their bodies!”

Oh.  My.  Expletive.

I went in to a bit of a tirade and told him that I’d been polite from the start by offering to let him go ahead of me and that HE was the one that didn’t know the meaning of the word polite.  I saw him look to Paul the cashier for some sympathy and Paul just looked at me, nodded his head and said I was right.  Crochety Old Man grunted, grabbed his tube of cream and stalked off.

A long explaination of why I need a pampering day, but wow…I just couldn’t believe the gall.

Now that I’ve got that out of the way, look at some pictures!

I was feeling artsy when I took this picture 🙂  These little face cloths only measure about 3.5″x3.5″, but they’re thick and cottony soft and the texture will make for a fantastic face scrubbie.  I got the pattern from this neat little five piece bath set and I decided to make several.  I’ve got a peppermint face scrub that is begging to be squeezed onto these babies!

A few days ago I mentioned these fantastic hair turbans my mother in law has for wrapping your hair in after a bath/shower.  Well I finally got around to making a few and here’s the results!

Doesn’t look like much, does it?  But when you open it up, wrap it around your head and tuck the tail into the attached elastic, it becomes a different animal! 

Never again will I struggle to keep a big bulky towel on my head after I wash my hair.  This bath turban is small but absorbent, stays on snugly and now I won’t go through so many towels!  My hair is down to just about the middle of my back and this holds it all in.  I’m thrilled with it and all it cost me was an old towel and a little elastic, both of which I already had.  I love it when I can make something out of things I already have.

Well, I guess that’s enough for now.  I know I was long winded and blathered on quite a bit, but I haven’t had much sleep and there’s a teensy part of me still seething about what happened last night.  It’s time to go run a bath now and try out my new handy dandy scrubbies and turban!

Happy weekend to all!

