Last winter I couldn’t find canned pumpkin.  It was an odd thing really; I couldn’t find it in any of the stores for some reason.  After getting frustrated I decided to just buy a pumpkin and experiment.  I’d never done it before, but pshh…that’s never stopped me!

I bought a 15 pound pumpkin and set to work.  I just cut the pumpkin in to manageable chunks, skinned it and boiled the ever lovin’ hell out of it.  When it was tender I drained it and proceeded to puree it.  I used what little I needed and froze the rest in to three cup tossable plasticware.

Now, I’ve had pumpkin bread on my mind for about a week and so I took a container of the pumpkin puree out of the freezer last night.  This morning I got up bright and early and decided that today was the day for some delectible bread!

I had no idea there was so much water in that puree.  The recipe I was using called for 3 cups of pumpkin puree and by the time I got all the excess water squeezed out of the pumpkin there was around a cups worth left.

What to do, what to do?  I happened to have five bananas lurking in my freezer to be made in to banana bread!  I decided, hey?  Why not?  Thus, the pumpkin-banana hybrid was born.

I had enough of the batter left to make a third loaf of bread, but since I couldn’t find my other bread pan I decided to make a cake.  I only call it a cake because I put it in a cake pan and drizzled some caramel topping over it, but it looked nice anyway!   

Here’s the recipe for the bread.  If you’d prefer it to just be pumpkin, go to the original recipe here.  If you want to use my recipe (which also changes the spices around a bit), look below.

 

 

Banana Pumpkin Bread

1 C. pumpkin puree

2 C. mashed banana (about 5 med. bananas)

1 1/2 C. vegetable oil

4 C. white sugar

6 eggs

4 3/4 C. all purpose flour

1 1/2 t. baking powder

1 1/2 t. baking soda

1 1/2 t. salt

2 t. cinnamon

1 1/2 t. ginger

1 1/2 t. allspice

1. Pre-heat oven to 350°.  Grease and flour 3 9×5 loaf pans.

2.  Mix wet ingredients together, in a seperate bowl mix dry ingredients together.  Slowly add wet ingredients to dry and mix until well blended.  Divide batter evenly between pans.

3.  Bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour.  Check loaves by inserting a toothpick in to center of loaf; if it comes out clean the bread is done.

 

 

