Here’s the Sienna Cardigan, in all it’s poorly photographed glory!

Specs:

Pattern: Sienna Cardigan, Interweave Knits Fall 2006

Size: Small (36″)

Yarn: Wool of the Andes in Cranberry

Needles: Size 10 Denise

Alterations:  Instead of doing the rolled sleeve I decided that it would look so much better with a ribbed sleeve to match the bottom.

What I learned:  In the past I hated doing set in sleeves because the seam would be bulky and not only would it look bad but it would feel uncomfortable against the skin.  I went on a search and found this fantastic tutorial from Chic Knits.  I went ahead and split the plies of the yarn so I could use the same yarn but have less bulk and I love the way it turned out.  I’ve seen the tutorial in books and all, but for some reason it just clicked for me on this project and I now have a new favorite way to do set in sleeves.  Maybe now I won’t be turned off from making them!

Overall I really like how it turned out.  I found the buttons at The Spinster (my lys) and I decided to use them instead of the ones I made because (as suspected) I hated the way mine looked with the color of the cardigan.  I’ll use them for a different project because I liked the way they turned out.  The buttons I got from my lys are handmade wooden buttons.  They’re simple and understated and the color of the wood really blends well with the color of the sweater.

Anyway, these are the buttons I made:

I took pictures of their progress, but there are a LOT and I figured I would post a tutorial eventually when I have no other interesting content to post.  I used sculpy clay and I like the pink and brown together but it’s just not right for a cranberry colored cardigan.  Either way, I’m looking forward to finding a good project to use them on.One last photo.  When I went down to The Spinster to look for buttons I decided to splurge and buy some sock yarn.  I’ve been itching to make some socks and I wanted to get the yarn to make a gift for my hubbin’.  I found some Trekking XXL, which I really wanted to try because I’ve heard great things about it.

