It feels odd saying finally about a project I’ve only been working on for a month, but FINALLY! 

 Specs:

Pattern:  Hedgerow Coat by Deborah Newton, Interweave Knits Fall 2007

Size: Small (36″ bust)

Needles: Size 7 circular, cable needle

Yarn: Caron Simply Soft Heathers in Deep Plum, 6 skeins.

Alterations: None. 

Overall this wasn’t a hard knit.  Time consuming, but not hard.  It felt like it took me ages to knit the back, though it was really only about two weeks.  I had to step it up because I knew I would run out of time if I didn’t so I did the fronts in about a week and the sleeves, collar and finishing in this past week.  Had I taken more time with it I’m sure I would have found it more enjoyable.  I may possibly make it again, only in the largest size.  I tried on the body of it after I’d seamed it and it stretched enough to fit me so I’m sure the largest size would fit.  That’s a nice surprise since the pattern is several inches smaller in the bust than I need it to be.

I had a bit of a hard time with the collar, but I think it was more out of being tired and a little frustrated than anything else.  The instructions were a little unclear but in the end it all worked out.  The collar has short rows worked in so it will sit nicely over your shoulders and it looks really nice.

I’ve had a really hard time photographing the true color of this yarn.  It’s somewhere between the first picture and this picture.  The very first picture I took of the back in progress was very far off.  Either way, it’s a gorgeous color.  I’d originally bought it for a sweater for myself, but it lends itself well to this project. 

I think Shannon will be pleased.  I had her try on the body while she was over visiting this morning and it fits her perfectly.  I’m looking forward to giving it to her.

