Happy Monday!

Well…hopefully it’s happy lol.

My plans of spending the entire weekend working on my Oblique went completely out the window.  I’m not sure why, but it seems I’m incapable of working on something for myself when I have even one other project in the works for someone else.  Seeing as how I’ve got three or four Christmas projects going, my intricate and lacy cardi for myself sat lonely and ignored. 

Hmmphhh.

I’ve found a new (to me) favorite dishcloth to knit.  The ballband dishcloth is interesting, fun to work on, beautiful when finished and there’s no end of color combinations to use to make it look different every time.  Why hadn’t I bothered trying it before?!

How cool looking is that?!  I’m sure I’m probably one of the last people with internet access and knitting knowledge to make one of these.  Well, unless you have something against dishcloths.  I know I’m rambling, but I really love this pattern.  I just kind of watch in awe as the pattern starts to show as I’m working on it.  I have plans to make a BUNCH of these for myself when the holidays are over.  Any that I make before that are going to family and friends.

I’m about halfway into the second mitten for my mother in law.  I’ve always loved the Corazon mittens from Knitty.  I started a pair for myself last year and only made it through the first one.  It looked for a while like that was the fate of these mittens as well, but I started the second on Saturday.  I think the pattern may be cursed for me because I had to rip it out three times before I got five rounds in to the strand work!  The first time I didn’t change to larger needles, the second time I started the color work before I did the increase round and the third time I jumped ahead in the charted pattern.  Ugh!  I hate ripping stuff out, and if they’d been for me I’d probably have just tossed them across the room and left them there.

I’ve got about 10 rows of my husbands Transformers toque to go.  I worked on it last night while watching Teaching Mrs. Tingle.  Sigh…Katie Holmes used to be SO adorable.  Now she looks all zombified.  Anyways….I’m still debating whether I want to line the toque or not.  Paul runs super hot so I don’t know if stranded (=thick) and double thick is such a good idea. 

Meh.  Enough about the knitting.

I’ve been wanting to bake cookies for a couple of weeks now.  I had Paul pick up brown sugar, chocolate chips, extra sugar and flour, more eggs.  Now I kinda have to! (Well, that’s my excuse anyways)  The first cookies I HAVE to make are Snickerdoodles.  Paul loves them to death and always complains that I never make them often enough.  There’s a very very large batch in the works. (I could take ’em or leave ’em!)  I’m also going to do chocolate chip, oatmeal, meringues (maybe) and I’m probably going to teach my mother in law how to make sugar cookies.

Anyone have any favorite cookie recipes to share with me?  I’m feeling a little bored with the classics, but I’m rarely adventurous enough to go looking for recipes of cookies that I’ve never tried before.  So help me out! 

