Jenn did this meme and I decided that I’d snag it and do it too!

1. Wrapping paper or gift bags?

Wrapping paper mostly, gift bags rarely.  I love wrapping gifts and always feel like I’m cheating when I just toss a gift in a gift bag.
 

2. Real tree or artificial?

Fake Fake Fake Fake Fake.  I don’t even remember the last time we had a real tree – I know it was before I got married so at least 10 years ago, probably a lot longer than that.
 

3. When do you put up the tree?

I usually put it up the first week of December – this year I’ve been dragging my feet, but I hope to get it done in the next few days.
 

4. When do you take the tree down?

I was told years ago by someone who is now fuzzy in my memory that you should always leave your tree up until New Years day  for good luck.  I usually take it down on the First, unless I’ve got a hangover.  That almost never happens anymore though.
 

5. Do you like eggnog?

Ugh.  No.  Hot Chocolate please.
 

6. Favorite gift received as a child?

A Teddy Ruxpin when I was six.  I only had him for about a month because my rotten big sister stuck her finger in his mouth while he was talking and broke him.  My mom never had a whole lot of money for gifts when I was little so a BRAND NAME toy was huge.  I can honestly say that I don’t remember any other toys I recieved when I was little.

7. Do you have a nativity scene?

Once upon a time.  It was small, white porcelain and really delicate.  It somehow got packed in with Cinnamon scented candles and in the Arizona heat – well, you can guess what happened.  It was impossible to get the red out and so I got rid of it.  Too bad really…I would have kept it and displayed it anyway if they’d been uniformly red!

8. Hardest person to buy for?

My husband!  I KNOW what he likes, but I agonize over it.  He never buys anything for himself so I always have to pick a few of the MANY things he would like.  Then I have to decide if it’s something he really wants or if it was a whim.  THEN I have to decide whether he’s going to actually use it or if it’s just going to collect dust.

9. Easiest person to buy for?

Little kids.  But seeing as I have few little kids in my life I don’t have any easy shopping.

10. Worst Christmas gift you ever received?

It was a bit of a bummer to recieve a loaf of bread-maker bread from my Mother in law.  But only because she didn’t make it…she took the card off of the loaf she’d recieved from a friend (In front of us!!!) and said “here, this is for you.”

11. Mail or email Christmas cards?

I’m notoriously bad about not mailing things so I usually email cards to friends and send a couple of cards out.  I love recieving cards, but it seems that most of my friends are the same as me!

12. Favorite Christmas Movie?

A Christmas Story!  My dad filmed it off of tv for me one year when I was little and I watched it so much that by last year when I played it you could hear the soundtrack but the screen was black!  My hubby bought me the DVD last Christmas 😀

13. When do you start shopping for Christmas?

Okay, this is my bad habit.  I always say I’m going to start buying through-out the year to make it easier around the holidays but I never do!  I usually do all of my shopping in the two weeks before Christmas.  I do start making stuff in October/November though.

14. Have you ever recycled a Christmas present?

No, but only because I’m too scared of getting caught and I never recieve anything that I dislike enough to regift.

15. Favorite thing to eat at Christmas?

I love Cheesecake, but I almost never make it anymore.  Second in line is Christmas cookies!

16. Clear lights or colored on the tree? 

It depends.  If I’ve got a lot of ornaments on the tree I usually use clear lights, if I’m putting only a few on I use colored lights.  This year I may use both!

17. Favorite Christmas song?

I love Santa  Baby by Eartha Kitt!  She’s got such an interesting voice.  I’m also really partial to anything by the Trans Siberian Orchestra.

18. Travel at Christmas or stay home?

Stay home, always.  Unless you count travelling within town to visit parents.

19. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer?

Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Donner, Blitzen, Rudolph!  You know, every time I say their names it comes out like the song!

20. Angel on the tree top or a star?

A star…though I have the stuff to make an angel one of these days.

21. Open the presents Christmas Eve or morning?

I like to wait until Christmas eve or the day of, but if Paul is off work before then we usually open them earlier.  We’re like impatient kids!

22. Most annoying thing about this time of year?

The over-pushy bell ringers.  I try to make it a point to toss change in every time I pass one, but this year it seems like they almost attack you trying to get you to donate.  On Saturday we went grocery shopping and the bell ringer in front of the store said “Gee thanks Satan!” to my husband for not putting any change in.  Now granted, he had devil Horns on his jacket hood and he didn’t donate and he got a kick out of being called Satan, but it seemed pretty rude to me.

23. What I love most about Christmas?

I like the crispness in the air, the underlying frenzy in people.  I like the festive lights and the bright decorations that pop up everywhere.  Gifts are good too, but especially giving them…I love to see the look on peoples faces when they open something I’ve given them!

