This new year seems to be coming in quietly.  Pssst…let’s wake up!

I’m not a resolution making type of person.  It was a slow process learning that.  I’d make resolutions and break them year after year.  A couple of years ago I finally decided that I was done making them.  So why on Earth do I keep wanting to?!

I’m sure it’s the hope of a new year, starting fresh and all that.  I’d LIKE to make resolutions, but I really feel as if I’m setting myself up for failure when I do.  I just can’t win!  So with that in mind, I’m prepared to just try and make some changes.  Maybe if I don’t label them as resolutions I won’t feel so pressured?

This year I’m going to try and craft more for myself.  Whether it’s useful or just fun, I want to stop feeling obligated to give to everyone else when I’m doing all the work.  I’m going to stop feeling like I’m being selfish for doing so!  I’m not going to stop doing for others, but just take a little more time for myself.  That’s the plan.

I’m also going to start trying to do some more home improvements.  This includes but is not limited to

  • Keeping the house clean.  I’m home, there’s absolutely no reason NOT to except that I’m lazy and like to craft too much.
  • Get the yard in decent shape.  I can’t really grow anything because of the weather and the dogs, but that doesn’t mean there has to be piles of branches and junk out there either.
  • Find that damned leak in the roof and fix it!
  • Get a new door this year, if I have to build the frakken thing myself.

I’m also taking on a bit of a personal challenge.  I’m getting desperate to get my stash culled and cleaned.  I’ve got partial balls of yarn and scraps as far as the eye can see and I’m tired of looking at them!  I love yarn.  LOVE it.  But I’m having a hard time enjoying what I have because of all the little stuff that I continually pass over.  It’s my goal to get my stash cut in half.  That’s approximately one tote of yarn gone.  I’m making the stash-ghan I mentioned a couple of days ago but I’m also trying to use bits here and there in other projects.  I got a little pissy yesterday because I don’t have enough of any one yarn to make myself a sweater.  Then I decided that that type of attitude isn’t going to take me far with destashing.  So; I’ll work on getting some of this yarn out of here and when I feel satisfied with my progress I’ll splurge and get myself enough of one yarn to make myself a sweater!  Simple.  Now, if I can stick with that I’ll be accomplishing something!

Along with the better housekeeping, I want to start cooking more.  We very very rarely go out to eat during the week, but when the weekend comes we eat almost every meal from a restaurant or fast food place.  THIS needs to stop!  Not only is it making us fatter than we already are, but it’s a huge drain monetarily.  Do you know how much YARN I could buy with all that money….wait….that’s probably not a good comparison lol.  But still, you get my point.  Neither of us are willing to give up our Friday take out, it’s just not going to happen.  It’s our special end-of-the-week treat and I think that’s fine.  However, waking up to an empty kitchen on Saturday and getting take out, and then Saturday night, and so on until we get to the grocery store has got to stop.

I’m thinking about working out a menu because that seems to work well and doing some freezer stocking cooking.  Neither of us are huge on breakfast, but we eat it on the weekends.  I figure I could make a few batches of pancakes and toss them in the freezer and keep breakfast burrito ingredients stocked.  Also, Paul isn’t a veggie eater (unless they’re raw) but I am.  I’m going to start stocking up on frozen veggies or fresh and freeze them myself.  There’s no reason I can’t eat them during the week while he’s at work and make single servings to add to my dinners.  The only reason I’m not getting my veggies is because I’m lazy.

I’m not ready to add weight loss to my non-resolutions yet.  I’ll get there.

In the meantime, I should be getting a bite to eat and getting the dishes done.  I have NO clean silverware and that’s just proof that I need to get my butt moving.

