The weekend went by in a blur and I’m kind of reeling this morning. It could be because I haven’t had any coffee though.

Paul had to work on Saturday, but he was out of work by nine and we decided that we were going to take off and check out the town wide yard sale in Chloride with his parents. We all loaded in to their van and drove the 20 miles to the teensy little town out in the middle of nowhere. I made them stop the van so I could get a picture of the sign:

chloride sign

Chloride only had around 150 residents, but because of it’s mining history it’s become a bit of a tourist stop. There are gunfights, a few small shops, and this past Saturday they had their town yard sale. It was kind of neat to soak in some of the kitschy tourist stuff (like a renewing of wedding vows followed by a gun fight) and hit some thrifty shopping at the same time.

cyanide livery shootout

The wedding vows went quick, and the shoot out even quicker. You could hear the gunshots through the entire little town.

We walked across the entire “Main street” and then drove my mother in laws van around the other couple of streets. I found a few bags to store projects in and a brand new set of hot curlers for $2.00.

chloride station

After we’d perused all the little yard sales and I’d gotten my Crocs absolutely covered in goat heads (Seriously, there were probably thousands embedded in each shoe!) we started heading out of town. At the last side street before you reach the highway there was a yard sale sign so we veered to the left and followed a dirt road for a few miles. That yard sale was the gold mine. I replaced two of my cd’s that were stolen years ago (TLC Fanmail and Alanis Morisette Jagged Little Pill) and the first 7 books of the Shannara series by Terry Brooks (In hard back!) as well as a whole bunch of paperback sci-fi books for Paul for a whopping $5.55. Before we left the yard sale I walked across the road and took a picture of a cactus in full bloom because it was beautiful.

flowers closeup

I got a little more sun than I expected during our jaunt so now I’m sporting a bright red neck, nice ghost-white shoulders and red arms from the midpoint down. Hot! I got a nice chewing out from my husband because of it, so I suspect we’ll be picking up more sunscreen soon. Years ago I got a sunburn on my back so bad that it was blistered around where the edges of my bathing suit were and even after all this time – 10 years or so – there’s a part of my back that is darker than the rest. I can’t blame him for bitching me out I guess…just have to be more careful next time.

The rest of the weekend was pretty uneventful. We went out for breakfast yesterday at Golden Corral (One of our favorite buffet places) and that’s going to be my last high calorie breakfast for awhile. I’m finally going to start keeping track of what I’m eating and try and lose a “little” weight. I picked up a ton of veggies and some fruit yesterday when we went shopping and I joined a site called The Daily Plate. It’s similar to FitDay, but I like the layout better and it seems more user friendly. I haven’t logged anything in to it yet, but I plan on starting to use it today. It even has a calorie calculator to figure out how many calories you should be eating for your weight to lose x number of pounds per week. It’s nifty!

Anyway, I’ll leave you with a picture I found way too cute not to take yesterday:

gutter in drawer

I left a drawer where I keep a lot of my hand knits open the other day and Gutter’s decided it’s the perfect little hidey hole for him to sleep in. I’ve left it pulled out so he’s been in it most of the last three days. Adorable old snot!

