I think I’m trying to put off getting off my butt and getting stuff done. I promised myself…just one more cigarette. Then it was, until I finish this cup of coffee. Now it’s; after I post because I PROMISED I’d post! I crack myself up sometimes 😀

cph back

I didn’t get the back finished like I’d hoped, but I’m closer. I took a break on throwing shit around cleaning to watch a couple of movies with Paul last night and managed to start the arm decreases. It’s been easy going so far, but sweater backs usually are. We watched One Missed Call and it was good (with a nice twist at the end) but it made me really want to see the original Japanese version. They’re so much scarier than the American versions. Then we watched In the Name of the King: A Dungeon Siege Tale and it was mediocre. Jason Statham was hot hot hot as usual, but I thought that with a cast of Ray Liotta, Matthew Lillard, Ron Perlman, John Rhys-Davies and Leelee Sobieski it would be really good….shoulda known that Burt Reynolds would ruin it. LOL, kidding, kidding. He wasn’t the only bad bean, but meh…if you’re watching strictly for entertainment and you’re not paying too close attention to the poor script it was okay.

Anyway! Paul and I played with the idea of making something Yoshi related for his Mom for Mother’s day. She loves Yoshi (from Mario fame if you don’t know who he is) and she loved the star mobile that Paul made me for Christmas a few years back. I took his idea of Yoshi cut-outs and morphed it into the mobile idea. Unfortunately, we didn’t have the money to get the supplies soon enough and when we did get them, we didn’t have enough time to finish before Sunday. So, it’ll be a just because gift or a birthday gift. This is what we’ve got so far:

yoshi mobile start

The stars will be the base of the mobile and there will be 12 Yoshis total, with a baby Mario in the center. As you can see, I’ve got two done so it’ll be awhile before it’s finished.

As for what else I’ve been doing? When we moved the living room and bedroom around night before last, we threw things all over the place. My craft room was a disaster area before, but now? It looks like something Squalor Survivors would post on their site.

craft room junk

It’s even falling out in to the hallway. I’m working overtime trying to get it at least somewhat presentable and it’s not going to be easy. I’m moving my sewing stuff, painting stuff and probably my paper craft stuff in to the old bedroom. I’ve already started:

old computer

I’ve put my ancient computer in there and I’m in the process of cleaning it up so I can play Sims and Sims 2 on it. There seems to be a problem with the cd drive though, so I don’t know if that’ll be possible. If not, I’ll start using it to categorize my craft stuff. The computer took up the tops of two of my file cabinets in my craft room.

sewing table

I set up my sewing table in there and I’m going to use the space under the table to store totes of fabric and other sewing related stuff.

paint shelf

I made little shelves to store my paint bottles out of the old dowels from the closet. When I pulled the closet out last year I kept the dowels…good thing…they’re perfect size for my paint and now I can see what I’ve got without rifling through a box!

makeshift bookcase

I made a makeshift bookcase out of milk crates to store some of our books. We don’t have nearly enough book shelves to house all of our books and this works as well. I just put some small dowels through the sides of the milk crates after I stacked them and voila!

shelf

I took the shelf from the living room that was housing all of our music collectibles and other junk and put it above the tv in the new catch all room. Now when I’m in there sewing or what have you I can watch tv or a movie. I’ve already got a disc of Keeping Up Appearances in the dvd player.

So that’s what I’ve been doing. Busy work. I’m hoping to get some semblance of order back to my craft room soon because I hate seeing it look like that. If I can just keep making a dent in it every day maybe it won’t take too long to finish.

