After several days of feeling like utter crap, today is a good day. Right now the neighbors dog is in the back yard playing with Moxie, I’ve got a big cup of coffee, and I’m writing this post from my new laptop!

laptop

Most of my electronic devices have names, and my laptop is no different.  I thought that since I’d named my mp3 player Euterpe (after the muse of music and lyric poetry) that I’d stay with the theme and name my laptop Clio after the muse of history.  It may seem odd since technology is so “now” and all, but finding my very first online diary after eight years would say different!

Clio is an Acer Aspire 4720Z.  She’s got 2 gig of RAM, 120 gig hard drive, she runs on Vista.  So far I have no complaints about Vista.  I’ve heard awful stuff about it, but haven’t seen it myself (again, yet.)  There was one other laptop in my price range that had 160 gig space and a built in webcam (which mine doesn’t have) but it didn’t have the dvd burner, which I really wanted.

I’ve spent most of the weekend playing with it and setting it up how I want it.  It’s weird having a computer all to yourself that you know nobody else is going to use.  I wonder if I can keep it virus/problem free?

Of course, because we spent a big chunk of money this weekend, something had to go wrong.  On Saturday afternoon Paul and I were lounging in the front room – he was playing his DS and I was messing around with Clio.  He got cold being directly under the a/c so he turned it down to fan and went back to playing his game.  Only problem is that when the house started warming up and he switched it back to cool, it wouldn’t blow any cool air!  We tried everything, including pulling the entire unit out yesterday afternoon when the house reached 94 degrees and cleaning it from top to bottom.  We’re pretty sure the coolant is gone.  SO, that means that we’ve got to brave the heat until Friday when we can go buy a new unit.  We’d just have it serviced, but it’s a small window unit and I seriously doubt it’d be worth the time or money involved.  Getting a new one is probably our best bet.  Luckily, our back room has a small window a/c and now that I’ve got wireless internet and a laptop I can spend the hottest part of the day back there.

No new portable electronic is complete in my house until it has a cover/cozy.  I’m crocheting a cover for Clio right now to keep her protected from dirt and scratches.  I’m about 3/4 through it, I still need to finish the edging, line it and then sew it up.  I’ve taken a small hiatus on my hoodie until the cover is finished and I can stop being lazy long enough to wind some hanks of yarn in to balls.

