Pretty much every one that reads this blog knows I’m “big”. Therefore, when I knit for myself it usually takes several weeks of seriously dedicated knitting or months of agonizingly short bursts of knitting to get a garment finished for myself.

That’s why I’m absolutely thrilled I decided to try Hey, Teach! from Knitty. It’s a cropped cardigan with a lace bodice. It’s beautiful! Now, I’m not really sure how this is going to look on me when it’s finished, but it’s going quickly enough that I’ll soon find out!

hey teach back

I started the back on Saturday morning and I just cast off on it about an hour ago. Unbelievable! I’ve NEVER knit a sweater back that quickly; not even for someone skinny! I’ll attribute that mainly to the fact that it’s cropped, but it’s a nice boost after it taking me so long to finish the Central Park Hoodie. I’m actually hoping to finish this sweater by next weekend!

I think that I’m going to be seriously busy knitting here soon. The Secret of the Stole III knit along starts on August 15th and I just signed up for the 2008 Ravelympics. It’s just like the Knitting Olympics, but within Ravelry. If you don’t know what the Knitting Olympics is, it’s basically a challenge to knitters (and crocheters!) to finish a challenging project between the time the Olympics begin until they end. It starts on August 8th (5 a.m. my time) and ends August 24th (at 5 a.m. my time). I’ve decided to knit the Curvy Knits Flare Top by Jillian Moreno. It’s a cute, simple top with seed stitch panels around the hem and sleeves. I’m pretty sure I can finish it in 17 days if I put my mind to it. Should be exciting to try, one way or another! This year marks the first time I’ve participated in a secret knit along OR any type of knitting Olympics.

