So, I think this is probably the first sweater I’ve ever made for myself that I actually like. Love even.

hey teach on front

I used right at 3 skeins of Caron Simply Soft Heathers in Deep Plum. I’ve loved this color since I first saw it. I bought some last year and made Shannon’s Hedgerow Coat and despite being cheap acrylic, it’s one of my favorite yarns. It’s soft, is machine washable and it’s in my price range if I want to make a sweater for myself (because sweaters for myself take a LOT of yarn usually.)

hey teach on back

It fits perfectly. For once I went against my instinct to go up in pattern size (which I couldn’t have anyway since this was the largest size) or use larger needles. Well, I take that back. I used one size larger needles, but only because that’s what gave me gauge. The only thing that rains on my parade is that I don’t like how I look. I hate how fat I am, BUT, since I can’t make it just disappear, I’ll deal and just love that I have a really pretty new sweater.

I have a few days before the Secret of the Stole III knit along starts so I’m making some mindless socks out of self striping Fortissima. I also ordered my yarn for the sweater I’m making for the Ravelympics so that should be on it’s way in the next few days. I’ll be sure to post pics of my stash enhancing as soon as it gets here.

